Explore Poppies Hand, Cranleigh Pupils and more!

Explore related topics

Ceramic poppies hand made by Cranleigh pupils have been installed in the Quad this week to remember the 200 Old Cranleighan's who lost their lives during WW1.

Ceramic poppies hand made by Cranleigh pupils have been installed in the Quad this week to remember the 200 Old Cranleighan's who lost their lives during WW1.

The Gymnasium in the early 1900s

The Gymnasium in the early 1900s

Just another Cranleigh School site

Paper+Mache+Fish | ... > Andre Senasac > Andre Senasac Gallery > Four Tropical Fish Mobile

Paper+Mache+Fish | ... > Andre Senasac > Andre Senasac Gallery > Four Tropical Fish Mobile

The old Tuck Shop which is now Mason’s Cottage on Horseshoe Lane

The old Tuck Shop which is now Mason’s Cottage on Horseshoe Lane

February 1866 is featured on our 1865 website this month - by the start of February 1866 there were more than a hundred boys overseen by four masters, including the Head. Find out more about school life during the early days of Cranleigh School by visiting our 1865 website!

February 1866 is featured on our 1865 website this month - by the start of February 1866 there were more than a hundred boys overseen by four masters, including the Head. Find out more about school life during the early days of Cranleigh School by visiting our 1865 website!

The 1st picture of the entire school, taken in Sept 1866 #TBT #ThrowbackThursday #cranleighschool #surrey #cranleigh

The 1st picture of the entire school, taken in Sept 1866 #TBT #ThrowbackThursday #cranleighschool #surrey #cranleigh

By June 1866 the School – which by then numbered 130 boys and six masters – had settled into a routine.  Rising every day in time for the first hour-long lesson at 7 am before breakfast at 8 am, long days of lessons were punctuated by twice-weekly exercise which consisted of runs for most and cricket for a few.  There was also the option of using the small gymnasium in what is now the Chapel corridor, the equipment having been donated by the Headmaster.

By June 1866 the School – which by then numbered 130 boys and six masters – had settled into a routine. Rising every day in time for the first hour-long lesson at 7 am before breakfast at 8 am, long days of lessons were punctuated by twice-weekly exercise which consisted of runs for most and cricket for a few. There was also the option of using the small gymnasium in what is now the Chapel corridor, the equipment having been donated by the Headmaster.

Pupils play a game of football on the South Field in 1890 #throwbackthursday #tbtphoto #tbt #surrey #cranleigh #cranleighschool #heritagephoto #sepia #football #vintagephoto #henrywoodyer #cranleighvillage

Pupils play a game of football on the South Field in 1890 #throwbackthursday #tbtphoto #tbt #surrey #cranleigh #cranleighschool #heritagephoto #sepia #football #vintagephoto #henrywoodyer #cranleighvillage

Pinterest • The world’s catalogue of ideas
Search