Explore To The Lighthouse, Lighthouse Keeper and more!

South of the harbours of Maryport, Workington and Whitehaven, sandy beaches and grassy foreshores give way to cliffs around St. Bees Head, a high promontory, which was a danger to small coastal vessels trading between the ports of Wales and the Solway Firth.    In 1718, Trinity House obtained a patent for the building of a lighthouse on the Head and in turn leased it to a private individual Thomas Lutwige, for ninety-nine years at an annual rent of £20. Lutwige undertook to erect the tower…

South of harbours Maryport, Workington and Whitehaven, are cliffs around St. Bees Head, built in 1718

Pinterest
Search