Oscar Edmund "Cap" Garland. Cap Garland was born in Wisconsin in 1864. He moved with his mother and sisters to the De Smet area in 1880 and became known in the "Little House" books for making his the trip south of De Smet in "The Long Winter" for wheat.
Mrs. Margaret Garland came to Dakota Territory in 1879. Later in 1880, she moved to De Smet and eventually had a boarding house built called the Garland House, which stood next to their home on the corner of Joliet Avenue and Second Street. The boarding house was located near Charles Ingalls’ store that the Ingalls lived in during the long winter. #DeSmet #History
We are thrilled to announce that the new documentary about Laura Ingalls Wilder’s incredible life is now available on DVD! “Little House on the Prairie: The Legacy of Laura Ingalls Wilder” is a must-see for all fans who love the "Little House" books and the TV series.