Matthew Walker residence, 1904. This newly completed home at 610 East South Temple was built for one of the Walker brothers who made their fortune as merchants and bankers. The mansion was later home to David Keith, then to several social clubs, including the Aviation Club and the University Club. Today it is used as an office building. (Neg. 1020.)
Holy Trinity Greek Orthodox Church, December 10, 1908. This elegant little church stood on 400 South facing up Rio Grande Street. It served the city’s Greek community from 1905 until the completion of a larger building in 1924. A warehouse stands in place of this building today.
The Liberty Theater, March 15, 1912. This photograph was taken for the Nephi Plaster Company and shows an elaborately decorated faςade. Miss Liberty was eventually removed from the building and the theater was renamed the Gem. This site at 160 South State is now a parking lot for a fast food restaurant.
Smith Drug Store Corner at 200 South and Main Street, August 26, 1910. About a year after Shipler took this photograph, the building, with its myriad billboards, was razed for construction of the new high-rise Walker Bank Building.