Explore Conservation Movement and more!

Explore related topics

Edrington, Berwick, was designed by eminent architect Rodney Alsop and built in 1906-07 for the West Australian pastoralist Samuel P. McKay. It is a two-storey red brick mansion in English vernacular style with some reference to the Queen Anne style. Originally the property was known as Melville Park and owned by Captain John Gardiner. He sold it to James Gibb, local member in the new Federal government, who planted many of the surviving trees. He used the property as a stud and for…

Edrington, Berwick, was designed by eminent architect Rodney Alsop and built in…

Eden Park Homestead, Romsey, has been owned by six generations of the Clement family (originally Scottish immigrants) since they purchased the land in 1857 at the Crown Grant land sales. The homestead was built a year later of dressed bluestone quarried from the property; it is Italianate in style, single-storeyed with a hipped, slate-clad roof and twin bay windows flanking the arched entry. Recently fully restored, it sits at the end of an impressive kilometre-long driveway lined with…

Eden Park Homestead, Romsey, has been owned by six generations of the Clement family (originally Scottish immigrants) since they purchased the land in 1857 at the Crown Grant land sales. The homestead was built a year later of dressed bluestone quarried from the property; it is Italianate in style, single-storeyed with a hipped, slate-clad roof and twin bay windows flanking the arched entry. Recently fully restored, it sits at the end of an impressive kilometre-long driveway lined with…

Bassett Homestead, Branxholme, was named after the original lease-holder, Christopher Bassett, who was murdered by aborigines in 1843. The first section of the substantial homestead was probably built in 1854; it then passed through several hands, including those of influencial squatter, William Skene, and his son Thomas, MP, until given by William Riggall to his daughter Ada and her husband, William Tully. In 1907 they employed leading architects, Reed, Smart & Tappin to make the grandest…

Bassett Homestead, Branxholme, was named after the original lease-holder, Christopher Bassett, who was murdered by aborigines in 1843. The first section of the substantial homestead was probably built in 1854; it then passed through several hands, including those of influencial squatter, William Skene, and his son Thomas, MP, until given by William Riggall to his daughter Ada and her husband, William Tully. In 1907 they employed leading architects, Reed, Smart & Tappin to make the grandest…

Lexington Homestead, Moyston (220km W of Melbourne). The run was taken up by Horatio Wills in 1839-40; in c1851 he built the large brick homestead with its encircling verandas and grand views to the Grampians. When gold was found in 1852, the station hands left to seek their fortunes and Horatio had to sell after only two years in the new house. He was later killed by Aborigines; his son Tom, who survived the attack, was a famous cricketer and went on to 'invent' Australian Rules Football.

Lexington Homestead, Moyston (220km W of Melbourne). The run was taken up by Horatio Wills in 1839-40; in c1851 he built the large brick homestead with its encircling verandas and grand views to the Grampians. When gold was found in 1852, the station hands left to seek their fortunes and Horatio had to sell after only two years in the new house. He was later killed by Aborigines; his son Tom, who survived the attack, was a famous cricketer and went on to 'invent' Australian Rules Football.

Invergowrie, Hawthorn (Melbourne), was originally named Burwood. It was built in c1846 for businessman and politician Sir James Palmer, Mayor of Melbourne, first Speaker (and later president) of the Victorian Legislative Council, and member of the Hawthorn Municipal Committee. His rambling bluestone house, in uncommon Picturesque Gothic style, is situated on an elevated site; it was then a rural retreat far from the bustle of the city. The slate roofed house is single storied (it originally…

Invergowrie, Hawthorn (Melbourne), was originally named Burwood. It was built in c1846 for businessman and politician Sir James Palmer, Mayor of Melbourne, first Speaker (and later president) of the Victorian Legislative Council, and member of the Hawthorn Municipal Committee. His rambling bluestone house, in uncommon Picturesque Gothic style, is situated on an elevated site; it was then a rural retreat far from the bustle of the city. The slate roofed house is single storied (it originally…

s-media-cache-ak0.pinimg.com 564x e5 55 41 e55541ec11d488f11616accae252e875.jpg

Love the entry of this Bowral country mansion in NSW. Click the image for more images of this beautiful homestead.

Golf Hill Station, Shelford, is one of the oldest pastoral properties in Victoria, being founded in 1836 by the Clyde Company, a Scottish Tasmanian syndicate under the control of manager George Russell. In 1851-58 Russell acquired the homestead freehold and in 1876 demolished the first brick house of 1846 to erect a large two storey bluestone mansion. It was designed by popular Melbourne architects, Smith and Johnson, in French Second Empire style - a style very rare in domestic architecture…

Golf Hill Station, Shelford, is one of the oldest pastoral properties in Victoria, being founded in 1836 by the Clyde Company, a Scottish Tasmanian syndicate under the control of manager George Russell. In Russell acquired the homestead freehold a

Bael Bael Homestead is located on a lunette which extends into the centre of Lake Bael Bael near Kerang. The homestead complex consists of the house, the shearing shed and stables, believed to date from the 1870s, and a storage shed, stockyard, concrete sheep dip and in-ground water tank. Bael Bael was originally part of the 370,000 acre Reedy Lake run, acquired by Charles Hotson Ebden and Theophilus Keene in 1854. They sold Bael Bael as a separate run in 1861. The Bael Bael homestead was…

Bael Bael Homestead is located on a lunette which extends into the centre of Lake Bael Bael near Kerang. The homestead complex consists of the house, the shearing shed and stables, believed to date from the 1870s, and a storage shed, stockyard, concrete sheep dip and in-ground water tank. Bael Bael was originally part of the 370,000 acre Reedy Lake run, acquired by Charles Hotson Ebden and Theophilus Keene in 1854. They sold Bael Bael as a separate run in 1861. The Bael Bael homestead was…

Pinterest
Search