Explore Jewish Girl, Amy Winehouse, and more!

Explore related topics

Amy Winehouse Was a Nice Jewish Girl With a Big Problem – Tablet Magazine

Amy Winehouse Was a Nice Jewish Girl With a Big Problem – Tablet Magazine

Meet Penina Mendes, a Jewish girl growing up in London, England, in the 1840s. Descended from Jews who fled from Spain in 1492, Penina is raised in luxury and cared for by her devoted nanny.   Author: Miriam Waldfish  When Penina gets lost one Shabbos morning, she meets two Jewish children whose lives are very different from her own. Inspired by her family's tradition of chesed,   Penina devises a plan to help them  --  despite the many obstacles in her path.

Penina's Plan

First book in the Jewish Girls Around the World series! When Penina

“A gorgeous and thrilling novel… Perfect for book clubs and fans of The Nightingale.” –PopSugarA historical novel of love and survival inspired by real resistance workers during World War II Austria, and the mysterious love letter that connects generations of Jewish families. A heart-breaking, heart-warming read for fans of The Women in the Castle, Lilac Girls, and Sarah’s Key. Austria, 1938. Kristoff is a young apprentice to a master Jewish stamp engraver. When his teacher disappears…

“A gorgeous and thrilling novel… Perfect for book clubs and fans of The Nightingale.” –PopSugar A historical novel of love.

parents lost, jewish girl and boy wait deportation.      Gaiaphine pinner says: makes my heart feel such hole of tremendous size. like balck holes in space. it is so horribly ,terribly sad. i can't even begin to imagine the nightmare these people lived  through.

Their parents lost, two Jewish children waiting for deportation from Palestine, December 1946 (II)

Season 1, Episode 24 | 99 Of The Funniest "New Girl" Quotes Ever

Season 1, Episode 24

The episode of New Girl airs this week, so here are some really funny lines, one from each of the previous 99 episodes.

Children in Theresienstadt - Established in 1941, Theresienstadt concentration camp, also referred to as Theresienstadt Ghetto, was established by the SS in the fortress and garrison city of Terezín, located in what is now the Czech Republic. Tens of thousands of children were held there for months or years, before being sent by rail transports to their deaths at Treblinka and Auschwitz extermination camps in occupied Poland, as well as to smaller camps elsewhere.

CAVEAT: This image is a publicity still from the current play "Terezin: Children of the Holocaust", by Anna Smulowitz. It is not a genuine wartime picture.

Vilna, Poland, A little Jewish girl lost in holocaust, 1929.

Vilna, Poland, A little Jewish girl lost in holocaust,

A German Jewish girl, newly arrived at the Dovercourt holiday camp (December 1938).

Kindertransport: A desperate effort to save children from the Holocaust

Before WWII, Britain opened its borders to Jewish child refugees.Kindertransport: A desperate effort to save children from the Holocaust. December 1938 A German Jewish girl, newly arrived at the Dovercourt holiday camp.

Vabalninkas, Lithuania, Shmitaite Asia, A Jewish girl, photographed on 28/05/1941.

Vabalninkas, Lithuania, Shmitaite Asia, A Jewish girl, photographed on

When her mother is killed by the Gestapo, a Jewish girl named Lola is sent into hiding. At first, Lola secretly lives in the home of a Ukrainian woman. But when someone threatens to expose her to the Nazis, Lola must flee again. Struggling against cold and hunger, Lola has lost everything — her home and her family. Will Lola ever find safety — or freedom? This moving, accessibly written memoir is a testament to the power of courage and hope.

The Hidden Girl by Lola Rein Kaufman, Lois Metzger

This little girl was 6 when she was gassed in Auschwitz in 1943.

This little girl was 6 when she was gassed in Auschwitz in 1943.

Jeanne Tennenbaum | Remember Me: Displaced Children of the Holocaust

Jeanne Tennenbaum- Displaced Children of the Holocaust

One of my favorite quotes of all time, found scrolled inside of a Jewish concentration camp during the Holocaust

--quote found inscribed in concentration camp. (PS this is also from a song that we sing at Girl's camp. it would be awesome if we got it from the person in the Concentration camp!

ZIPPORRAH, Wife of Moses, the Writer of the First Five Books of the Bible. And Miriam and Aaron spake against Moses because of the Ethiopian woman he had married: for he had married an Ethiopian woman.” (Num. 12:1) Members of both Christian and Jewish faiths are usually surprised to learn that the man God chose to write the first five books of the Bible was married to a black woman and suffered persecution for it. Moses’ wife was of Ethiopian (Cushitic) descent and her name was Zipporah…

Wife of the Writer of the First Five Books of the Bible. Moses’ wife was of Ethiopian (Cushitic) descent and her name was Zipporah.

The Book Thief Trying to make sense of the horrors of World War II, Death relates the story of Liesel — a young German girl whose book-stealing and storytelling talents help sustain her family and the Jewish man they are hiding, as well as their neighbors.

Your Favorites: 100 Best-Ever Teen Novels

The Book Thief, Markus Zusak, is a historical fiction novel set in Nazi Germany. Told from the perspective of a personified version of Death, The Book Thief is a outstanding and unique story that shows what it's like to be alone and afraid.

SVTV Short Film Fest, gaySVTVworld’s online film festival, will present SOUND/VISION, a short film about a shy Muslim girl, lost in an unfamiliar town, who meets a disillusioned Jewish pianist and discovers her musical genius through their mutual love of Beethoven's piano sonatas, this Saturday.  Written...

SVTV Short Film Fest, gaySVTVworld’s online film festival, will present SOUND/VISION, a short film about a shy Muslim girl, lost in an unfamiliar town, who meets a disillusioned Jewish pianist and discovers her musical genius through their mutual love of Beethoven's piano sonatas, this Saturday. Written...

Pinterest
Search