Along the coast of South Shields you will see the remains of Marsden Lime kilns, perhaps the most visible reminder of South Tyneside's Industrial past. These lime kilns were built in the 1870s showing Limestone has been quarried at Marsden for many years. The stone was used in some notable local buildings, including Whitburn windmill.
It’s hard to believe that the small building dominating the market square was once the meeting place for the top officials of the town. The hall was originally built by the Dean and Chapter in 1767 as a place for holding their Manorial Courts and providing offices for their officials.It was sold by them in 1855 to the corporation together with the market tolls.
On Friday 5 December, from 5pm, we welcome the three kinds so South Shields. The wise men will travel along King Street on their trusty camels, along to the Market Place. Once the kings have arrived there, they will be greeted with Christmas Carols and lots more, as St Hilda's Christmas Wonderland lights light up for the first time!
THE TOWN HALL,SOUTH SHIELDS was designed by architect E.E.FETCH and replaced the old Town Hall which still stands in the Market Place. He started to build in 1905 and it was opened on 19th October 1910.The building was opened by George Thomas Grey ,who was mayor of South Shields at the time.
Head to South Shields riverside to see the historic Customs House, now a fantastic cultural venue. The Customs House was established in 1848 at Mill Dam. When the Daltons Lane warehouses were refurbished in 2004 the builder found old mortuary slabs. With further research it was discovered that the building had previously been a morgue.
On Saturday 29 November 10am-5pm aNn Sunady 30 November 10am- 4pm, Haven Point in South Shields, will be host to oen of the best Christmas Fairs in the region! With over 60 stalls sellign beautiful jewellery, decorations and unique festive food, this is the perfect place to pick up unique presents for the whole family!
Find out how a garrison of Roman Soldiers would have lived at Arbeia Roman Fort, South Shields. South Tyneside. Built around AD160, Arbeia Roman Fort once guarded the entrance to the River Tyne, playing an essential role in the mighty frontier system. Based four miles east of the end of Hadrian's Wall at South Shields, the Fort was originally built to house a garrison and soon became the military supply base for the 17 Forts along the Wall.
Walk or Cycle the South Tyneside Heritage Trail. Choose between any of the smaller routes that make up the 26 mile trail around the borough. The trail is designed to help people explore South Tyneside's incredibly rich and diverse heritage.
The Tyne lifeboat served South Shields for over 60 years where her crews help save some 1,028 lives. In 1874 she was placed permanently on Pier Parade as a reminder of the skill and bravery of the men of the Tyne Lifeboat Institution.